As you login to your Remote Desktop, you use up resources on the network for your login.


Disconnecting from a session by clicking the X at the top of your Remote Connection window will leave all your applications running, continuing to use up resources on the network.


Temporarily disconnecting from a session is extremely useful, especially if you have something important you are working on and wish to continue it later. It’s also useful if you were disconnected for some other reason (like your internet went down), you can simply reconnect to your session and carry on where you left off.




Although disconnecting is usually fine for short periods, if you are finished working for the day, you should ensure you close down all your applications and log off correctly.




Logging off your Remote Desktop session frees up valuable resources for others on the network to use. Think of it as shutting down your local PC at the end of the day.


Leaving yourself logged in can cause issues with resources and could cause login issues for other users. Leaving applications running can cause database/file corruption and backup routines to fail.


Following these simple rules ensures a smooth experience for all users accessing the network and related resources.